Crash

"Homemade" Products

Now, I am very very new to this whole absinth thing, but I am pretty sure you all had a good laugh at the title and probaby wanted to slap me for even bringing it up on this fine forum. I've looked everywhere on this site and turned up nothing on them, and probably for a good reason. But fakesinths are still absinthe....Incredibly crude, perhaps, but contain many of the same ingredients....I'm not advocating for the good or bad of homemade absinthe products, but I would like to know if anyone here has tried any, and if any are good whatsoever. help please?

Now, I am very very new to this whole absinth thing, but I am pretty sure you all had a good laugh at the title and probaby wanted to slap me for even bringing it up on this fine forum. I've looked everywhere on this site and turned up nothing on them, and probably for a good reason. But fakesinths are still absinthe....Incredibly crude, perhaps, but contain many of the same ingredients....I'm not advocating for the good or bad of homemade absinthe products, but I would like to know if anyone here has tried any, and if any are good whatsoever. help please?

Go to Wormwood Society Discussion Forums - Read This First - Forum Rules and Terms of Service:

Item number 10 is:

10. No Hobbyist Distilling Discussion; Don't Ask, Don't Tell. This is not the place.

Steepsinthe, ie home made macerated attempts will result in unmitigated drek.

But fakesinths are still absinthe

No. Really, they are not absinthe(s).

I suspect many of us have tried it before getting a little information.

In my more ignorant years, I tried steeping wormwood in Pernod. Not only was it disgusting, it was not absinthe. Keeping reading the threads. Absinthe must be macerated Grand Wormwood, anise, fennel and other herbs in a neutral spirit and then distilled. Oil mixes may also qualify but they are usually of a much lesser quality.

Fakesinths will never be absinthes.

Fakesinths will never be absinthes.