hyperlunch

An Upper Midwestern Hello

Heya!

I discovered this forum while researching L'Artisanale. A Google search result yielded the thread where someone was trying to auction two bottles of it. I enjoyed all your responses, so I started reading through other topics in the forum. I was especially taken with the intelligent manner in which you all seem to carry yourselves here -- consistently witty and spirited, while managing to stay good-natured. Imagine that! A notably refreshing change from many other forums I'm sure we've all encountered. I signed up immediately. :)

So. Hi! I'm somewhat new to absinthe, but not brand new. I hail from Minneapolis, Minnesota. My favorite absinthe at the moment is the Jade PF 1901, 4:1, no sugar. I am a musician by trade, composing jingles and background music for commercials and film. I'm also a total science geek.

By way of additional introduction, I'll briefly summarize my path to absinthe appreciation:

All my life I'd understood that absinthe was this crazy old liquor made entirely out of fermented wormwood, which, being 100% poisonous, the FDA finally banned because it was killing too many people and causing permanent brain damage in those it didn't kill. I imagined wormwood as being a bright green wood, similar to the toxic green-dyed insecticide lumber that people build houses out of. Hence absinthe was bright green. And syrupy!

But then last year, while my mind was wandering, it wandered onto the topic of absinthe. I remember thinking, "Come on. Was absinthe really poison? I mean, were people really drinking poison? What a crazy era! Why would they do that?" So off I went to investigate the answer to what I thought would be a one-off Wikipedia query.

Boy, was I wrong!

I became immediately entranced by the history of the drink -- the misinformation, the duplicity, the subterfuge! Plus, when I learned that it was anise-based, I had to get some. I absolutely adore anise.