JohnC

1914 Pernod Fils Cache

Those of us who view the FV forum regularly or who are subscribers to Oxy's VAM mailings will be up to speed on his amazing discovery of 76 bottles of 1914 Pernod Fils. Those who haven't had details of the find of the century should visit the VAM website.

I'm picking up a bottle from the cache on Thursday and am planning to drink it over time rather than put it on a shelf.

I will share my experiences once my excitement has subsided.

By the time I'm ever able to afford vintage absinthe it will probably all have been found and bought.

It's worse for you because it's so close and yet so far. Being a musician I'll be lucky to be able to afford pre-ban when I'm 50... there's no agonising "man, why couldn't it be just a couple months later?" for me.

Yet it's worse for me because there probably won't be any left by the time I'm 50.

I'm with ya on that one Peridot. I could never afford a whole bottle. I just don't even think about such things anymore. I've decided why get oneself all worked up or bummed out about something you can't have or won't ever have? It's a waste of energy.

It seems like we have a good selection of pretty nice absinthes available to us. Now if we didn't have to get dinged with Monkey charges good absinthe might even be kind of affordable for the likes of us.

:cheers:

Still, I envy you. I'm a musician as well, but I'm not really going for it like I would want to. Instead I'm working full time for a company that pays me well enough not to leave, but each year I'm there (I'm going on 7 years) I feel is a year wasted. I have a really primitive home recording setup, so I do get to write stuff and record, just not as often as the inspiration hits me. The upside is that it stays fun.

Back on topic: If I ever can get a bottle someday, I'll send a sample your way.