Stevian

Abisinthe Lemercier 45%

At last, I've had my first taste of Absinthe and I'm going to share the experience with you. You lucky devils :)

A few things I ask you to bear in mind; this is my first time; I've probably done everything wrong and I have no idea what I'm talking about. So please be kind to my mistakes.

I received a mignonette (3 cl.) of the Lemercier 45% as a free gift when I ordered an Absinthe spoon and glass from a local supplier Alexamo Pty Ltd. http://www.abisinthe.com.au/. I assume it is a decent brand because according to the brochure it won the Cuillere D'Argent at the 2003 Absinthiades, though for all that means to me it might as well be Best in Show at Krufts. But, on with the motley.

I measured out two parsimonious doses, as I wanted to compare with sugar and without. The colour was clear with perhaps the faintest tinge of yellowy green. The aroma was medicinal but not unpleasant. The louche was immediate and substantial. The taste was subtle (perhaps to much water), anise and something else lurking behind it (I confess to an uneducated, but I hope not eneducable, palate), not unpleasant but not interesting.

2nd dose, with sugar, no louche, don't know what I did wrong. Taste, more complex as if the sugar brought out the flavour. I don't know what I was tasting but I liked it. Definitely worth a return visit.

That night he green fairy visited me in my dreams, but that was most likely purely a result of my aberrant psychology

Hmm, yeah, not too sure about the 45. Both 72's I've had from Lemercier have been ok, but I truly couldn't imagine them with only 45%. The FG is 45% and simply didn't do it for me too much.

I think part of the fun is finding the right water ratio, too. For me, the FG is much better at 2.5 to 1. I prefer the CLB at 3 to 1. Every absinthe is a little different but too much water is simply too much. :cheers: