DeProfundisClamavi

Allow me to introduce myself.

Good evening, all. Thanks to the urging of my friend martygreene, I've joined the forums here. I'm not exactly new to the world of absinthe, having been familiar with the liqueur for decades thanks to extensive readings of the Decadents and other writers of the Belle Epoque, but only recently became an actual enthusiast thanks to the wonderful world of online suppliers. I've a bottle of Montmarte (my favorite distillation, thus far) on its way, in fact.

So what should you know about me...? I'm an English instructor currently teaching the basics of rhetoric and composition at two southwestern Pennsylvanian universities, California University of Pennsylvania and Penn State University's Fayette Campus. My literary background is primarily focused on the works of Howard Phillips Lovecraft and other American sci-fi/horror authors of the 20th/21st Centuries, though I've a thorough background in the Decadents, particularly Charles Baudelaire (hence my screen-name here) and Joris-Karl Huysmans, and am, in general, fascinated by all aspects of fin-de-siecle Europe. In fact, I'd venture to say that one cannot truly understand the foundations of 20th-Century horror fiction without appreciating the Decadents, as many themes which writers such as Huysmans, Poe, Verlaine, and others brought up in their writings echo strongly in perverted form throughout the majority of 20th-Century horror authors--especially Clive Barker, Caitlin R. Kiernan, and Richard Calder. I'm certain Charles Baudelaire would've greatly admired Hellraiser, in fact.