Sign in to follow this  
Aaronjw

Thoughts on Sugar

Does anyone here actually like absinthe with sugar? I'm no expert with absinthe, but I've had a few brands (Pacifique, Vieux Carre, Pernod, and one other whose name I can't recall although it's quite good), but all the brands I've tried seem too sweet to benefit from sugar at all, and so I haven't tried it. Don't even own an absinthe spoon, actually.

Do you find this is the case? Are modern absinthes perhaps sweeter than older recipes, and so that tradition isn't really necessary today?

It's not the absinthe, it's you. ;)

No, seriously; it's a genetically-influenced preference. This is why we always correct people who say things like "a good absinthe doesn't need sugar". Some people perceive the flavor of anethole as a source of sweetness, some don't. It may (or may not) be connected to the "super-taster" gene, but I'm inclined to think it is.

Non-sugarers are actually in the minority. We kept a running poll on the site for years, and no matter how many responses we got, the numbers remained fairly consistent:

2008 - 600 responses
40.3% always use sugar.
23.3% often use sugar.
20.9% seldom use sugar.
15.4% never use sugar.

2015 - 4000 responses
40.5% always use sugar
23.8% often use sugar
17.5% seldom use sugar
18.3% never use sugar

That's interesting! I'd be curious to know about the drinking habits of those groups; IE, who only drinks absinthe, who drinks wine, or various sorts of liquors. This may again be just my own perception of the sweetness of the anethole, but absinthe seems significantly sweeter than other alcoholic drinks (barring sweet ciders or meads and that sort of thing). So I'd be curious to know if their taste in absinthe relates at all to consumption of other somewhat bitter drinks?