ShaiHulud

Hello, I am ShaiHulud and I just joined

Hello everyone, I am new to the WS (and online forums in general). I am also fairly new to Absinthe as well. Like many others, I have seen it in movies and read about it in literature.

Every time my wife saw it in a film she went on and on about how much she wanted to try it and how cool it looked. Seeing a surprise gift idea, I feigned disinterest and secretly began researching it. I read everything I could find and soon found La Fee Verte and some other sights. Before long, I decided on a bottle of Verte Suisse 65 for Christmas. I ordered and recieved it without incident and was soon looking forward to the biggest surprise gift ever. I knew she would never guess what I had gotten her and the look on her face was to be priceless.

I could not believe it when she called me the other day and sheepishly confessed that she thought she had discovered what her Christmas gift was. I could not believe it. FOr some reason, she had logged into our computer as me and stumbled on my web history. I was so dissappointed. She was extreemly surprised but I had missed giving it to her.

With an upcomming personal holiday, however, we decided to open and experience the Verte Suisse the other night. We both loved it!! It tasted fantastic. The ritual was fulfilling (I wish I had a pontarlier glass or two and a fountain) and the effect was singular. I am an instant fan.

The only flavor and odor we did not recognize must have been the wormwood and it got a bit overpowering in the second glass. I was also dissappointed in the distillar's proof sticker and wished I had a bottle with a cool lable to save. I guess the Verte Suisse will be more traditionally labled soon. Any recommendations for a less expensive "every day" or "weekly" brand? Thanks for the info and cool looking site.

Welcome, Shaihulud!

I'm glad you enjoyed the VS 65. It's nice to see a discerning noob who isn't afraid to start at the top of the commercial heap.