Sign in to follow this  
absinthe360

If I don’t like Roquette 1797 might I like other vertes?

Ive only had two absinthes, La Clandestine and Roquette 1797.

I really enjoyed la Clandestine, which is a Bleue.

But I found Roquette 1797 to be absolutely undrinkable (to me, a complete novice).

It seamed a little bitterer but that wasnt my problem with it, it just had a lot of herbal planty flavors I didnt like.

I tried it with various ratios of water and sugar but nothing made it palatable to me.

Since I dont like Roquette 1797 will I dislike all vertes?

Or is Roquette kind of in its own category?

Thanks.

Edited by absinthe360

The Roquette is definitely a big undertaking for a novice palate, as Louchey said about medicinal is true because in the early days that is what absinthe was sold as, I think elixir would be the better word. But please do not give up on it, save it, as your palate will develop over time and you may come to enjoy it, it happens to be my favorite because of the large herbal profile.

Just go back to the review section, read it, ask questions here, I'm sure you'll find quite a few great vertes that you'll enjoy.

Don't be surprised if all your perceptions and preferences change over time. Even having several glasses of the absinthe you didn't enjoy, over the course of a few days, will reveal new things, and you may feel differently. Absinthe is such a unique experience, and many of us simply have never before been exposed to these flavors, aromas... After several different brands, some time, and your palate changing, you will notice, most likely, that even the Roquette will seem different than the first time you tried it! It doesn't mean you'll like it, you may and you may not... I bet many of us here had this experience, however!