#1 Lucas

Lucas

Newcomer

• Neophyte
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 05 November 2013 - 06:55 AM

Hi!

I know I just delurked a couple of hours ago, so I hope its not considered rude to jump straight

to asking questions..:) 
But I have this question regarding a bottle I just bought at Ebay.

http://www.ebay.com/...=p2047675.l2557

From what I could tell from the closeup of the cork I think it looks like the original cork is intact.

-But I'm no expert. The auction did ended at a lower price than I expected though.. So I thought I'd ask what

you guys think.

Of course now I've already bought it so I'm mostly bound to follow through, but if the experts here is certain I'm

getting ripped of I'd at least take it up with the seller. -Myself I don't think so.

The seller has a good reputation it seems, and assures me it is legit.

-I've tasted quite a few prebans, and my palate is pretty good. So I feel certain that if I taste it I will know if this is just a new absinthe decanted into an old bottle. But then I'd have to open it, and I'm not sure yet as to wether I want to open it for drinking or just keep forever sealed:) I'll probably end up opening it but..

Any thoughts on this one? 
Anything is appreciated!

#2 TheLoucheyMonster!

TheLoucheyMonster!

Really Advanced Member

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,679 posts

Posted 05 November 2013 - 09:58 AM

.  This comment from the listing gives me pause:

Suinte légèrement au niveau du bouchon  ( Forte odeur d'anis il me semble )
trans
Oozes slightly at the plug (Strong smell of anise I think)

So the seal is not airtight then.

#3 Lucas

Lucas

Newcomer

• Neophyte
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 05 November 2013 - 11:33 AM

I did see that one, but jugding from the level it can't be a very bad draft / or it is recent.

-And if it was a fake(i.e something else decanted), woudn't the guy take the care to make it airtight?