22 replies to this topic

#1 Neuron

Neuron

Newcomer

• Neophyte
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 02 November 2013 - 02:13 PM

Hello to all. I look forward to learning more about absinthe from folks on this site. I became interested in absinthe for two reasons: 1) I've always liked the taste of liqueurs like Pernod and anisette (especially in "corrected" espresso; and 2) I studied literature in college, with an emphasis on the 19th and early 20th Century, and absinthe figured in a lot of the writing from that period.

I'm a complete novice re absinthe, but I do have functional taste buds and am able to describe what I do and don't like when I imbibe the stuff.

So far I've tried only 3 brands: Absente ("newer" version), Pernod Superieure, and St. George Verte.  IMHO Absente tastes bad, almost like some sort of industrial mix of aromatic licorice-smelling hydrocarbons. It's color just doesn't seem natural...way too "day-glo" greenish. Worst of all, it gave me a migrainous hangover. Unfortunately I have migraine, and there is a lot of stuff I cannot drink because it triggers headaches. That includes a lot of stuff I really like the taste of, like good Scots Whiskey and fine aged red wines. The Pernod and St. George did not trigger migraines, so I assume they are free of whatever migraine-provoking cogeners are in the Absente.