Sign in to follow this  
Aaronjw

Please welcome a total newcomer

Hi everyone,

I'm totally new to the WS (just been looking around on the forums for the last couple of days), as well as to absinthe itself. I've been wanting to try it for a long time, but only recently have I (sort of) gotten the chance.

Unfortunately, I'm currently living in Batesville, AR, in the middle of a dry county. The nearest liquor store is 45 minutes away. So, the last time I made a trip there, I looked at the very small selection of absinthe; they were located with the whiskeys for some reason, and they only offered two brands: Lucid and Absente. I had heard only mediocre things at best about both of these brands, and the Lucid was WAY over-priced at 70 dollars per 750 ml bottle. The Absente was 50 a bottle. So I went to the counter and asked for a small bottle, and got a bottle of Grande Absente with about four oz for 10 dollars. Got home, looked at the WS reviews for it, and was regretting my decision; luckily I wasn't out too much money for it. I obviously tried it anyway; not awful, but pretty much just tasted like anise and sugar. It had a nice louche, if nothing else.

I'm planning on making a trip down to Little Rock in the next few days (about an hour and a half away), so I'm gonna try to find a higher quality liquor store than I usually have access to, and maybe find something decent. If anyone reading this is from the LR area, I'd love to hear about any liquor stores that carry a good absinthe.

If that doesn't pan out, I've been looking at the Catskill Cellars selection for bottles priced at around 60 and checking reviews, and I'm thinking I'll order either the "Vieux Carre Absinthe Superieur" or the "Pacifique Absinthe Verte Superieur." Anyone prefer one to the other, or suggest something else as a first absinthe?