Sign in to follow this  
simon

sydney newb de-lurking

hi, i'm simon a sound engineer and psychology student from sydney, australia. i've been browsing WS for a couple of months to supplement the knowledge i've been slowly accumulating from personal experience. just signed up so i could post, but thought i'd better start here and introduce myself.

it's the old, old story; boy meets girl, boy gets girl's number, boy hears an absinthe bar has just opened up, boy takes girl to absinthe bar, both expecting to get trashed on flaming shots and have meaningless sex, boy and girl instead experience fine french and swiss absinthe, boy and girl end up in long term relationship, absinthe bar becomes boy and girl's special place. how many times have we seen that story?

over the following 3 years we've both been focusing on studying, so we couldn't afford to go to our special place (an awesome joint called the absinthe salon) all that often, but recently on a visit we saw they were selling a used 4 tap water fountain half price, so we spontaneously dove in and bought the fountain, glasses, a big box of sugar cubes, a bottle of jade PF1901, and they generously threw in some spoons.

that first bottle lasted about 2 days, although we sold about half of it by the glass to our housemates. since then we've also bought and drunk bottles of nouvelle orleans, edouard and duplais blanche. we seem to be on a mission to educate our friends one at a time and turn them into avid absintheurs, so that they all need to buy lots of it, and the availability goes up and the prices go down. well, that'd be nice, anyway...

so that's me, thanks for reading!

cheers,

simon

Welcome!

how many times have we seen that story?

Not often enough! Good first experiences with absinthe like that are rare. Many of us have newbie horror stories.

Cheers!

:cheers:

Hey Simon