Sign in to follow this  
Navidson

Looking to Get All Educated on the Good Stuff

Hello to my fellow absinthe-drinkers,

I've been a fan of the site for a couple years now (I think I actually made my account a year ago but forgot about it...) but haven't gotten around to getting involved until today. Better late than never, right?

Anyways, I'm relatively familiar with the basics of absinthe (preparation, terminology), have the basic equipment (spoon, glass, but no fountain), and have had a few various bottles of decent quality (Kübler, Obsello, Vieux Carre). My true love in life is cocktails and I'd like to supplant that with a better knowledge of absinthe (what makes the best Sazerac?!?!) as well as a better appreciation for the Green Fairy, itself. I figure this is a good place to start!

As for myself, I'm a second year law student who copes with that fact by making lots of fancy cocktails and cooking all sorts of things I can't pronounce correctly.

Glad to finally be saying hello!

I just had a quick look through your blog. It's always a pleasure to welcome another serious cocktailian! :cheers:

In case you didn't know already, we have assembled all of the cocktails which call for absinthe from The Savoy Cocktail Book, The Gentleman's Companion, The Old Waldorf-Astoria Bar Book, and a few others, over here.

Welcome!

Welcome!

Nice blog, I enjoyed the peek I just took at it. For old cocktails try to source high ABV versions of the ingredients. Watering down to 80 proof is a bit of a post-prohibition thing from what I hear. I've tried a few old versions of things with higher proof spirits and they sang.

For the absinthe rinse to the Saz I'd go with Jade Nouvelle Orleans for the rinse. It is a bit spendy and some people may say it's too complex for cocktail use but from what I've noticed it's worth it. I'm also a heretic and substitute Peychauds for The Bitter Truth's Creole Bitters.

Cheers! :cheers: