Sign in to follow this  
Marty_4

Few starter questions

Hi guys and girls.

As my welcome message says I'm new to absinthe and have a few question that I've searched the answers for with no luck.

Firstly is their anything, food etc or another liquid that compliments or exacerbates the, lets say effects of absinthe?

Secondly. How much does or can the taste of absinthe differ between brands/type etc. I have a home study that I spend a lot of time in and like the idea of a personnel absinthe bar :-)

And lastly...

In relation to the use of absinthe to help with a creative mind etc; could

if used right absinthe help with study? I'm doing a masters degree as I'm sick of actual work offshore, so fancy a office job engineering.

Cheers in advance

Marty

Also.

In relation to my second question above, could someone tel me the names and info of 4-5 absinthe s to start off my collection. Ones that differ quite a lot in taste etc.

I'll be shopping at absinthe online/liqueurs de France.

I take it this is a reputable store?

I was told it was.

Welcome!!! The "effects" from absinthe come mainly from the alcohol .... really. There are a number of fine European and domestic absinthes, take a look at the reviews to get some ideas. Yes, Liqueurs de France is quite reputable. Enjoy the journey! :arrr:

Other "effects" come from many of the holistic herbs many reputable distillers use in the manufacturing process; keep in mind that absinthe was originally a medicinal elixir. Some of those roots and herbs have stimulating affects which impart a lucidity on the patient... err... drinker :)

Ultimately, you experience a wide-awake drunk.

As for taste differences between various brands of absinthe - absolutely. There is a very wide array of differences and though some are similar - many are quite different and no two and exactly the same (at least from my explorations).

Cheers lads.

Great replies.