Sign in to follow this  
-TJ-

Hi, I'm TJ... (the noob from South Dakota)

Hello all, my name is TJ. I'm relatively new to the world of absinthe, and am extremely eager, and interested in learning (and of course, sampling) all I can about this incredible stuff.

My first introduction with absinthe was in the mid to late 90s, though I didn't actually get my hands on any until '08. Unfortunately for my palate, it was Grande Absente (that cute little set that came with spoon & glass... yay.) I love the flavor of anise, so I just assumed all absinthe was supposed to taste like a Good 'n Plenty frappe. I was pleasantly surprised to learn otherwise. The kicker is that even though I enjoy anise, that "frappe" was just too much. I can't recall any other flavors at all aside from that, and I couldn't justify spending almost $70 on it when the reality (for me, anyway) was that a bottle of Sambuca was much less expensive, and had a close enough flavor, albeit too sweet for me. So I just stuck with whiskeys and craft beers, until recently.

A few months ago while skimming through Netflix, I found "Absinthe - A Documentary" and my curiosity was reborn. I watched it about 4 times that week (give or take a few), which led me to the net looking for all things absinthe; which ultimately led me lurking about here.

At this point I was still trying to find a good absinthe to start things off properly. All I found locally was Lucid and the reviews had me on the fence. I couldn't wait though, and decided that a low to mid grade had to be better than a no grade candy flavored frappe.