Jump to content
Gwydion Stone

Forum Software Upgrade - Outage

Recommended Posts

Probably too many werdz™ for this clown, anyway.

 

But, yes, indeed, it's looking much more betterer! :thumbup:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

LOVE the color. Love the heading. Great job! :thumbup:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can't edit any of my posts prior to today.The option doesn't seem to exist.Yesterday,if I cursored over "quote" the option appeared,but it only let me edit once.Anyone else notice this,or is it just me?

Edited by redwun

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll have to adjust the edit window. It's probably shorter than the two hours it used to be.

 

It's so green man.

It's a wacky idea, I know, but there are already a blue and a brown absinthe forum, I figured I'd stick with green. :harhar:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No more like button. It's not just about scoring the popularity of a given post, but the poster. It's part of a "user reputation" system, where the number of "likes"—and/or "dislikes" when they're enabled—contribute to the user's reputation score. The last thing we need is a popularity contest where each of us wears our score on our profile.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know, it's ironic because I said I wanted a Like button a couple of weeks ago. I'd still like to have one if it was just a matter of ranking the post, not the member.

 

On a positive note, however, we can now:

 

• Ignore people's signatures (it's a grey X that appears at the right of someone's sig when you hover over it)

• Auto-save while composing posts. As you type, the text editor content is automatically saved so that if you have to reload the page you can restore what you've written so far.

• Tag topics, just like in WordPress and other social apps. Topics with similar tags will appear below the reply window, as you can see below.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not allowed to "like".

 

If there were a 'love' button for that, I'd click on it with gusto.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is a little strange for me, don't know the computer that much, but hey, if I can put myself in Pontarlier France by myself and not speak the language and not care for days, I think I can adapt. :g:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A number of profile settings were apparently lost in the upgrade. Please go here and make sure all of your information is current and complete. Thanks! ~ Admin

 

I went and approved everything but it still gives me this notice. Am I being obtuse again here?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

While I track down a way of bringing back that functionality, here's a recent thread from the IPB boards about this change:

 

I just upgraded from 2.x to 3.x and found that all PM system has changed a lot.

 

The conversations system looks good, but I think it might be a bit confusing for less technically minded people?

 

For example I see a lot of deleted messages in my inbox - this is where a user has deleted it from their side to remove it from their 'inbox' - which is obviously wrong. What they meant to do is hide it from their view until the other person replies. Because they've accidentally deleted their message to me I can no longer reply to it.

On the initial 2.x -> 3.x upgrade, the system was a little confusing for some of our members, yeah. We had quite a few questions about it.. In my eyes though, that was simply due to the way the system was before the upgrade, it meant that there was no "conversation" element to it, so a lot of messages were marked as deleted because there was no knowing either way.

 

Any messages made after the upgrade are a lot more logical, and we've had no questions or queries about it.

What Lewis said above. When the upgrade is done, there's no true way to know which PM's were actually part of a conversation or which were part of the same conversation. You'd think that going by the title would make it easier, but what if someone has two or three PM's titled "Hey" or "Hey there" with the same person but consisting of different discussions? It'd make for a huge mess if it were all squished in together.

 

Even though it's been out for a few years, you might try asking for a hook or app to be made that would allow members to pick-n-choose PM's to merge together into one collective conversation. Then members could do that (for themselves) and after doing that, read over the newly made conversation to make sure it reads right. Once done then they could delete the source PM's. Since it's been awhile (a few years) since it was first an 'issue', I doubt you'll get anyone to take you up on it unless you offer an incentive (money). Just really comes down to how important it is for it to be done.

 

Instead what I'd recommend is to just make an announcement addressing the issue and just encourage everyone to use the archive feature for any they want to retain a copy of, then go back and purge [the originals] so that they don't have them tying up their PM space. The stock archive feature only allows one-at-a-time, but there's a hook that will allow multiple PM's (conversations) to be archived much easier. Your members might appreciate it greatly, because then they can retain the older messages while cleaning out their PM's to make way for the more modern conversations. smile.png

http://community.inv...nced-messenger/

For example I see a lot of deleted messages in my inbox - this is where a user has deleted it from their side to remove it from their 'inbox' - which is obviously wrong. What they meant to do is hide it from their view until the other person replies. Because they've accidentally deleted their message to me I can no longer reply to it.

Actually, this is not necessarily the case. When a user "deletes" the message, it is considered deleted for them. Initially when the system was built, we deleted it for all other users, however it was determined through client feedback that this was not desired. If you and I are in a conversation and you delete it because you are done, I may still want to refer back to it - I didn't delete it after all. Thus, it was decided NOT to delete the conversation for the other user automatically, but to prevent them from replying to it so that if you delete it, I can't keep replying and reopening it on your end. Controls like this become more important given the fact that you can control how many messages each user is allowed to retain in the conversations system.

 

Hopefully that clarifies what you are seeing a little bit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Holy crap, it's so different.

 

Hi guys, not dead, just too broke for booze and spending too much time in bands and playing computer games.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

×