Sign in to follow this  
Coralyne

California neophyte, checking in...

Hi! Just registered the other day and figured I might as well de-lurk. I found this forum in the midst of an enthusiastic Googling spree embarked upon after watching the "Absinthe" documentary on Netflix. Thus far I must say that I'm impressed with the quality of content here at WS (the lack of "TRIP BALLZ!!" nonsense is refreshing, for one!), both in what I've seen of the forums and in the various informational resources folks have clearly spent a fair bit of time putting together.

As for who the heck I am...well, I'm a ladynerd residing in the SF Bay Area with my significant other and our quartet of spoiled felines. I work as an engineer and have far too many hobbies (painting, electronics, amateur carpentry, woodcarving, gardening, photography, etc., etc.).

All that said, I must confess I've yet to actually try absinthe -- but hopefully that will not be the case for much longer. I'm intensely curious, partly due to the nifty aesthetics of the preparation process, but mainly because it just sounds ridiculously tasty. Anise and fancy bitter-herbal flavors are pretty much my favorite flavors in the world (well, other than dark chocolate and coffee, but that's a whole other culinary vector) which suggests to me that absinthe could well be right up my alley, so to speak.

The only thing making me a bit nervous is the fact that despite my inclination toward intense and unusual flavors in foods and whatnot, I'm not much of a drinker. I only ever drink any alcoholic beverage for the taste, and I'd rather only taste whatever it is I'm drinking on the way down (as opposed to the other direction). So I'm going to have to be careful, but in any case, I look forward to what is sure to be an adventure in deliciousness. And you can rest assured said adventure will NOT involve setting anything on fire.

Hello and Welcome!

:cheers: I believe you will find with moderation absinthes effect is very pleasant.