75 replies to this topic

#1 Miriam

Miriam

Newcomer

• Pip
  • 31 posts

Posted 10 August 2012 - 05:06 AM

Hi there,

Like I said in my introduction (read here if you wish) I'm quite new to the world of absinthe. So please forgive me, if I mention things that would be completely obvious to most of you (on this thread and any others I will comment on in the near future)

You learn pretty quickly, that the majority of absinthe fans and lovers are men - there are women, of course, but the numbers are much lower when comparing them to the numbers of male absinthe lovers.

I can only think of a couple of reasons for this...

- Women tend to be rather careful about what alcohol they drink, and they're much more worried about losing control. Therefore, they don't trust spirits with an high level of alcohol.

- Most women prefer sweet drinks

I think it's sad, not because I personally like absinthe, but because I think the absinthe community is such a wonderful thing, which would be even more colourful if more women got involved (sorry, guys ;) ). I wouldn't know how to make absinthe more attractive for females though. Maybe through delivering the lifestyle rather than banging on about historic recipes and the amount of certain herbs included?

Can you think of more reasons why absinthe is not as popular amongst women, and have you got any ideas about how one could approach this matter?

Maybe the girls here could share how and why they became an absintheur - for me, this has to do with my internship, but I'm convinced there are some of you who simply love absinthe?

What do the guys think?

Let's brainstorm!

Oh, and apologies, if there was a similar thread somewhere I didn't see.

#2 RadarGreg

RadarGreg

• Pip
  • 53 posts

Posted 10 August 2012 - 05:26 AM

How to make absinthe more attractive to women? Serve it sitting on a credit card. :laf:
I like my absinthe like my women; bitter and intoxicating.

#3 Miriam

Miriam

Newcomer

• Pip
  • 31 posts