richerich

Hello from Ottawa, Canada

Hello all,

I am new to the world of absinthe and have searched far and wide in the depths of the internet to solve a few questions I have. This forum is a sigh of relief after hitting into one dead end after the other. On my trip to Amsterdam two weeks ago, I walked into a shop selling Absinthe. I told the sales lady that I have never had absinthe and wanted to know what she would suggest. She pointed out to three bottles which varied in alcohol volume; 70% (Jacques Senaux), 80% (King of Absinthe) and 92% proof (Yellowish liquid with bugs in the bottle). Like goldilocks, I chose the bottle that wasn't weak nor strong but "just right."

Coming back to Canada, I was curious to know more about the bottle I purchase. I read more and more about thujone, woodworm, bit of the history of absinthe, and some of the debates here :tongue:. But all that investigation did not conclude to what I really wanted to know.

What's the story behind this bottle I purchased? :g:

I have yet to pop the bottle and intend to at a friend's wedding. All that a side, if you have any information please feel free to swarm me with knowledge.

P.S. And Yes, I know...that I shouldn't have chosen a bottle by alcohol volume but that's how the lady pitched it to my dumb ass and having no clue myself I went along with it :blush:

Thank you in advance, :cheers:

Riche

01-01.jpg02-01.jpg

I've never seen the particular travesty you purchased, (although, it seems like a ramped up rival of the infamous King of Spirits) but I can guaratee you that it's not absinthe as we've come to know and love it.