Sign in to follow this  
PerfesserCoffee

What brand(s) are closest to c. 1850's/1860's absinthe?

Expert advice would be appreciated by those who have studied the matter. I'm looking for a brand that would be (thought to be) closest in taste to the middle of the 19th century which is my area of historical interest.

I'm a civilian re-enactor and would love to introduce others to absinthe. I read some info on absinthe a few years back before it was reintroduced and have always wanted to try it. I am an absinthe "virgin." :blush:

I'm a newbie here but did do a search for similar topics so please forgive me if this has been answered recently and I missed it.

That question along with so many others can be found on the front page. The first page of the forum also has lots of very good information. There's also a neat place for you to make your own introduction thread so the members can give you a warm WS welcome.

Hello PrefesserCoffee, nice to meet you, I'm Pere Ubu.

Please read the FAQs, the information out front, Brians Profile which is a veritable fountain of information, and like the marnie mammal mentioned, start an introductory thread so we can give you a proper welcome.

Pacifique would seem to fit your bill for a mid 19th century absinthe. But don't limit your choices, and your poor forgotten palate to just one offering, when today there are so many wonderful and tasty choices.

Edited by Père Ubu

Was hoping to run across some Pacifique while in Upstate NY to buy. So far my search has led me to the conclusion that NY is almost as bad as FL in finding quality absinthe at an adult beverage store.

Edited by greytail

Was hoping to run across some Pacifique while in Upstate NY to buy. So far my search has led me to the conclusion that NY is almost as bad as FL in finding quality absinthe at an adult bevage store.