Red RaveN

Anyone willing to live in middle Europe needs to be a little bit drunk.

Greetings Absintheers!

So I thought I'd drop in to say hello and introduce myself for a bit, since I just joined.. I'm not very good at this, so bear with me:) Also, I am usually more of a lurker, so you might not see me here very often.

I'm an IT/juggler guy from Slovakia, which is incidentally next to the Czech republic, which is incidentally where my first brands of Absinthe were from.. I however recognize the potential in Absinthe, I like the culture and the ritual. I'm more of a tea person than an alcoholic (although please don't hold me to this on weekends:) )and I do enjoy preparing a tasty drink to sip.

A question to you guys: Is the traditional method of Absinthe preparation really so little known, or is where I live just a cultural backwater? Everyone seems really surprised when I tell them about the whole cold water to louche thing, people even sometimes think I'm making it up. I tried burning some wannabe Absinthe, it was just about the worst thing ever. I'm not sure how anyone would want to drink any kind of alcohol like that, but, de gustus..

I do have one good Absinthe experience - holding my brand new Roquette bottle:) But being the newbie that I am, I will keep it in store for a time until I get enough experience to really appreciate it and the Absinthe matures.

So do ask if you want to know more, and meanwhile have a nice day!

Welcome, Red.

A question to you guys: Is the traditional method of Absinthe preparation really so little known, or is where I live just a cultural backwater?