So a friend of mine had a bottle of Hills, and I just had to try it to really see if it's really that bad. My Lord! It was the worst thing that has ever desecrated my mouth. My curiosity finally got the better of me. Has anyone had similar experiences or am I the only idiot here? :puke:

And it's better for you than swallowing sand!

Hey Hiram, about the Staro... they have that spoon with the all-seeing-eye, actually a better design than the La Fée "eye" spoon, but not as well made. But this causes vague flickers of memory to spark, regarding other uses of this image in absinthiana.

Any others come to your mind?

post-209-1132905780.gif

The spoon that Leone provides with their bottles is vaguely similar, but it's not really an eye, just rays coming out from the center. I can't think of any others, but I'm not a spoon expert. Which ones do you have there?

I tried Fruko Schulz a few years back, and also tried Hill's, just out of curiosity. Schulz was actually worse than Hill's, although both literally tasted like some kind of poisonous chemical. I only had one sip of each, gagged and poured them out, which dismayed my Turkish friend who had brought the bottles along to try and impress me. Then I gave him some Un Emile (best there was at the time), and he said "Oh!", and never drank Hill's again.

Oh, I wasn't really asking about spoons. I was asking about appearances of the all-seeing eye in absinthe culture. So far all I can point to are these spoons ( left to right, Staroplzenecky, La Fée, and something called Palirna. I just have the spoons, not the two weirdosinths )

But I have a nagging feeling I've seen the eye elsewhere in absinthe stuff, in an ad, or a drawing, or on an obscure label. I just remember that when I saw the La Fée label for the first time, it seemed natural to me to see the eye there, as if I'd seen it before in absinthiana.

My ex recently returned from a trip to Athens.