Michael White

Yikes! Bought Sebor (I'm new to this)

Hi guys,

So I am relatively new to Absinthe. Have often enjoyed a glass when out with friends but still don't know much about it. Recently bought a bottle of Sebor Absinth but gather it is mostly hated by those on the Wormwood society forum! I actually like Sebor but don't really have anything to compare it to.

So two questions:

1) Is Sebor really that bad? What makes it bad?

2) Which other make of Absinthe would you recommend?

Much thanks for the help!

Welcome to the WS, Michael. :wave2:

If you would like some direction on what people familiar with absinthe like and recommend, go here. It's a link to the WS absinthe review page, which contains detailed tasting notes on a variety of absinthes.

1) Is Sebor really that bad? What makes it bad?

"Bad" is really a personal call. Whether or not you like it isn't up to anyone else. But as far as its quality as an absinthe... well, I'm not even certain if it actually is or not. It doesn't really meet the criteria as far as I know. So regardless of whether or not you enjoy it, it doesn't represent what absinthe is.

Too bitter to be considered an absinthe, in my opinion. It's not distilled, it's an intensely-filtered macerate. Martin Sebor maintained (as does his successor, Bairnsfather) that filtration is a form of distillation, and vice versa.

This is based on an over-simplified rationale that each process is used to separate components from one another. Unfortunately it ignores the differences in how that separation operates, and what constituents are, or are not, separated. This assertion is a fallacious categorical syllogism (the "politician's syllogism"):

1. All cats have four legs

2. My dog has four legs

3. Therefore, my dog is a cat.

or

1. Distillation separates compounds

2. Filtration separates compounds

3. Therefore, filtration is distillation.