Mike D.

hi, my name is mike...

Hi. I'm new here. I found this place after looking at the notorious "czech shit" and thinking about buying it... Good thing i found this place. I've never tried absinthe before, and my girlfriend and I are interested. We're pretty poor and not big drinkers. So we'd be looking for a cheaper absinthe with a lower alcohol content and high thujone content. We want to feel the "effects" for our first time. There will be time to become afficionados later... Does anyone have any recommendations? What's the price range for a serving? Is it best to buy online? From a distributor's site or the manufacturer's site?

Thanks for being a friendly, reliable forum...

Mike

Hi Mike.

The first recommendation is to check out the FAQs on the WS homepage. You will quickly learn that thujone plays no role in flavor or "effects." Sorry but that myth has been resoundingly busted.

My second recommendation would be to find a nice bar that serves absinthe in a traditional fashion (no fire, please). That will allow you to try a couple of different absinthes without dropping the cash on a full bottle.

And of course, Welcome to the Forum.

Welcome, but a friendly warning: There are folks here who have little patience for the "thujone and effects" hype, and those who come here seeking that. It can be forgiven, as there is so much crap out there about it...nobody new to absinthe can be blamed for buying into it. Once they are corrected and given true information however (like that on this site), nobody here will pursue that topic. As Joe mentions, there is a lot to be learned here by spending some time reading the FAQs. Good friends to be made, and great advice to learn from! You can also compare the absinthe reviews here to what's available at places like Drink Up New York, Catskill Cellars, and K&L spirits to see what costs what, and which you're interested in. Good luck on your journey!

Hi Mike. :wave2: