Sign in to follow this  
Awful

Too Many Open Bottles?

I have searched the forum and I have found a lot of useful information about storing my bottles (keep upright, in a dark cool place, etc.) and it seems that most people here feel that opened bottles have a fairly long shelf life. Although, there are a lot of discrepancies in opinions concerning the length of the shelf life. Some say around 1 year, and others say a lifetime.

The above paragraph was written in the hopes of precluding "use the search function" comments.

I am pretty new at this and have jumped in with both feet (actually it was really more of a belly flop), though admittedly not quite to the extent of sbmac. I already have 6 opened bottles and I have 4 more on the way (including the 2 DPs and a bottle of Pacifique!). I think of myself as a moderate drinker, but considering my buying habits, I can foresee some of my less liked brands sitting around for a couple of years.

Also, it appears that I am not going to get much help with drinking these. My girlfriend hates them (I thought for sure I would sell her on the VC). My friends want to try them, but they aren't really developing a taste for it.

So, would you suggest finishing a few bottles before opening new ones? Not that I will be able to resist, but I will certainly take your suggestions into advisement...

I am pretty new at this and have jumped in with both feet (actually it was really more of a belly flop), though admittedly not quite to the extent of sbmac.

HaHa! Looks like sbmac has become the epitome of the absinthe newbie, and all absinthe newbies will strive to achieve what he has in such short time from now on.

Awful: I can't really help you. The longest I've kept an open bottle is for 4 months, it was still good after that, the green faded a bit though.