Sign in to follow this  
Horn Brain

Tentatively Titled the "French Whiskey"

So I'm pretty new to fiddling with drinks, so I'd like some input on something I threw together...

Equal parts:

Your Favorite Gin

Sweet Vermouth

Dry Vermouth

Half a part:

Limoncello

liberal dose of Peychaud's bitters

Stirred drink.

First of all

I'm not sure it's new. I searched for it everywhere but couldn't find anything with this recipe, but if anyone knows this drink please let me know so I can stop pretending to be original.

Second

The drink is pretty sweet, but I find it's still nearly balanced (at least to me). I just love the smell of the sweet vermouth, as well, almost meaty. If you're making this for yourself and you find it's too sweet, go ahead and play with the proportions. I'm no master mixologist so I won't be offended in the least if you find you prefer it with, for example, twice the relative amount of gin or something (Though I find it too harsh when using a lot of gin to make it more Martini-esque). Also, the Peychaud's were just a guess, if you think Angostura would work better, by all means, let me know!

Third

The name needs work. It's a play on the fact that it looks exactly like whiskey but it isn't at all, but since only one of the ingredients (dry vermouth) is traditionally french and I don't even feel that it is the backbone of the drink, I would suggest "Italian Whiskey". Italian for the sweet, "Italian" vermouth and the limoncello. I liked the kind of whimsical notion of people without access to good whiskey mixing this thing up instead.

Finally

Since it's sweet and also has some whiskey-ness to it, I was thinking it would be fun to add a few dashes of absinthe lining the glass with a lemon twist and call it a Sissy Sazerac or something. I'll tell you what I think once I buy some ice tomorrow.

So let me know what you think!

Interesting.