scanman0

Crazy Sites until I found this forum!

I'm a newbie.

I never knew what this whole scene was about, when I watched the HBO series Carnival.

After watching the "blind" actor, mix a drink....I'm sure you know the scene there :)

I was thinking...hmm...what is this all about? I was interested....

I then had an older friend tell me what the name of the drink was. Still verbal, and I was not spelling it correctly enough for google. I did get close enough to eventually find my way here after 4 hours of punishing sites like:

www.greendevil.com

www.emeraldabsinthe.com

It seems that Google will bring up the worst sites first. I have never tasted absinthes yet! I do plan on purchasing the purest and enjoying it in the most traditional way. Thanks to the last 4 hours reading your FAQ's and forums, I am almost ready to import a good bottle, for flavour sake. Thanks for all the great info.

P.S.

I never fell victim to the crap about the 'buzz' of some sites, even before I came here and read the TRUTH. If this drink was a narcodic, it would be a huge problem. It is almost like trying to get fresh squeezed juice from a tree that is not present on the conenent you live on.....It's avail, but cost prohibitive.

I'll buy a bottle, just to taste the forbidden fruit :)

Robert.

Welcome Robert,

If you’re ever in Atlanta lets have a drink.

Oscar,

Actually, I live in Buckhead. Right at Piedmont & I-85. I would enjoy meeting up with you and tasting this drink for the first time :)

I am in the heart of Atlanta.

Perhaps we can meet at some place other than the bar scene, as I am not a loud music, player type of scene person...I'm more into Home Theatre...Lets Chat.

Robert

Welcome Robert/scanman0 (which do you prefer?) from another Atlantan (well, suburban Atlantan, anyway)! I was likewise inspired by Carnivale. A terrific series. Too bad HBO decided against a third season...

At this rate, we'll have an Atlanta "scene" in no time.