Robynn

Long-while Besotted, Recently Realized

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I am hereby rectifying my faux pas of posting, pre-introduction by getting around to introducing myself albeit in a somewhat tardy fashion.

My interest in absinthe began as a juvenile curiosity - a byproduct of my general brooding and morbid fascination with all things dark and mysterious, typical of most teenagers. As a romantic by nature, but a skeptic by trade I did what little research I could about absinthe in my late junior high school years through library research, but as it appeared to be a banned substance and a foreign one at that, absinthe became an obscure wish, mostly forgotten about for awhile longer.

Becoming part of internet culture in the early 1990's, I was able to finally learn more about absinthe, and unfortunately to try some very scary home brew (vodka maceration made from whoknowswhat) through a friend. So I can attest first hand to the evils done by others in the name of the elusive and imaginary psychoactive brew that so many once believed to be absinthe, that we fortunate enlightened souls have schooled our brains and our palettes, and know better. Like most things, the truth of the matter is much sweeter than the fabricated fiction.

As an adult, I had friends who had mentioned they had procured absinthe from Europe (via internet sales) and had offered to finally let me taste what I had wondered so long about, but this was either a silly boast or through gluttony perhaps there was none left to share - and once again, I would have to wait.