Scotteh

Hi from WI

Hello Wormwood Society Forums!

My name is Scott, I’m from Wisconsin, and I have been lurking around the forums for a while trying to get educated on absinthe. I am originally from a small town, and I am now a student in the School of Pharmacy at UW-Madison.

I was first introduced to absinthe via Robert Hess’ show The Cocktail Spirit on Small Screen Network. After turning 21 in March, I began searching for “my drink,” and his show was my first introduction to mixology and spirits in general. Coming from Wisconsin, large majorities of people drink beer…often… which I enjoy, but I was looking for something different to sip on.

After a stint with bourbon whiskey, and after doing some absinthe related Google-ing, I happened upon this great website and learned a great deal from it's content. Fortunately, I had a proper introduction to absinthe history and service from Robert Hess and Jamie Boudreau in their videos, so I avoided any misinformation from other sites about thujone and preparation (ie fire :thumbdown: ).

My first sip of absinthe was last week, after I bought a bottle of Lucid. I had been searching my local liquor stores to scope out their absinthe selection, but Kübler and Lucid predominated. I eventually ran across the Lucid gift set for $50 on a home town visit, and decided that I had to pick it up because I couldn’t find the bottle itself for under $57. I already had two Lucid etched Pontarlier glasses that I found for $1 each at a local grocery store about a month ago ( :yahoo: pure luck), so now I have four glasses….and only one spoon. Anyways, on to the tasting!