AiO

Sipping Absinthe, Playing Music

Like everybody else, I cringe when I read interviews with Marilyn Manson and other musicians who boast of recording albums while "on" absinthe.

As a musician myself, though (I've played guitar for about 20 years), I must confess that I've played music by myself and with others after having a few glasses of absinthe and that the results have been interesting.

I usually avoid drinking alcohol when making music; while it loosens me up, it also dulls my senses and slows down my reflexes. Moreover, it dulls my creativity and distorts my sense of my own performance. The only thing worse than watching a drunk musician try to play an instrument is being the drunk musician trying to play an instrument. I cringe when I (partially) remember my buddies and I "taking the stage" while shitfaced at parties during my college years. Of course, most of the audience was drunk too, so maybe our performance sounded OK. Or at least it's likely that they don't remember it any better than I do.

On the other hand, I find that while absinthe loosens me up, it doesn't have the adverse effects I've experienced playing music while under the influence of other types of alcohol. (Again, I'm only talking about a few glasses here, not half a bottle.) I retain my senses, my reflexes, and my self-awareness; I would even say that they are heightened, along with my creativity. I would describe it as a zen-like state of musicianship, but that sounds pretty corny. And this isn't just the "absinthe talking"--I've recorded some of the music I've written and played while "on" absinthe and it holds up the next day. I'm happy with it.

I have little interest in feeding the hype surrounding absinthe's much-vaunted "secondary effect," but I have to admit that it does have an interesting effect on my music. Other members of this board have posted about the effect of absinthe on their art (painting, etc.). Anyone care to discuss its impact on their music?