I had my first taste of single malt scotch the other night when I saw Iron Man at the Alamo Drafthouse. I was pretty impressed, so I picked up a bottle of Laphroaig (which many of you seem to enjoy). I'm looking to buy another bottle, but something on the other end of the spectrum. I've seen Glenmorangie come up quite a bit here, but I was curious if someone had any other suggestions for a good, less-peaty, single malt.

I am also new to the single malts, and really enjoying it. Living in a small town like I do makes it hard to find good single malts. The liquor stores don't carry anything that cost over $50 a bottle, and the ability to order online isn't an option in Mississippi. This limits me to the cheaper stuff like Glenfiddich and Balvenie.

It just tastes like burning to me. But I did pick up a cheap Single Malt at 20% off retail when a supermarket was going out of business. It's a good deal better than the plastic bottle Scotch my friend likes, but still pretty much burning.

Laphroaig is most definitely categorized as a full bodied, peaty and medicinal Scotch. If you're looking at the opposite end, there's a couple of categories you can look into.

If you're looking for light and delicate, then you may want to check out Glenkinchie, Knockando, Auchentoshan, Arran or Cardhu.

If you're looking for a more full-bodied Scotch, but with low peatiness, you may want to check out Mortlach, Aberlour, Cragganmore, Glenfarclas, Balvenie, Clynelish or Ardmore.

Happy drinking!

And if you're looking for a sherryish scotch, try the Macallan 18 year, or for something more reasonably priced (and really delicious), check out the Balvenie Double Wood, and Port Wood.

Balvenie is one of my favorite lines of Scotch. They have a huge range of flavors, depending on which type you buy. The 17 y.o. Sherry Wood was a great addition to the line last year.

I'll second the Balvenie line.