OB1

Mixing ratio?

First I am a newbie. I did search a bit for a question similar, so if I didn't find it I apologize.

Anyway

I have heard people mention "I couldn't find the right water to absinthe ratio". I was under the impression that this was a taste issue not a proper ratio preparation recipe. I figured as long as I got the louche I could mix to my desire. If I want a strong drink less water after the louche, somewhat weaker then more water.

Am I wrong? Should I be looking for the exact ratio to properly enjoy my absinthe?

You are not wrong. You are quite correct. Depending on my mood, the water-to-absinthe ratio might change from glass-to-glass with the very same absinthe in the very same evening. It's all a matter of taste.

You're doing just fine. ;)

I've found that the recommended mix ratio found on some bottles is just that; a recommendation. Personal experimentation will provide you with your preferred mix ratio.

When I started drinking absinthe I often used a 3:1 water to absinthe ratio. Then Peridot recommended 3.5:1 and that became the norm for a long time. Now I'm consistently using 4:1 and am thinking of trying some at 5:1.

But I usually have only one absinthe a night so that could explain it.

I generally go for about 3.38:1, personally, but when I get particular I'll make it 3.375:1

What...doesn't everybody?

:harhar:

Dude...drink what you like, like what you drink, and life is happy.

I read an article somewhere about traditional absinthe glasses that said the purpose of the reservoir at the bottom of the traditional Pontarlier glass is to help measure the "dose" of absinthe, while the flutes help measure the "dilution." I got out my glasses from LdF (I hope they don't mind my hijacking their jpeg, below) and did a little checking with a measuring cup. Here's what I found:

post-1354-1204312023.jpg