Sign in to follow this  
Daniel

It arrived! Err...arriven? Arrove?

Ok so yeah I'm a newb... I just had a knock on my door and USPSanta was there with my Doubs. Its my first, so I'm jiggling here.

I'm wondering how ice cold water is suppose to melt ANYTHING let alone a sugar cube - that stuff ran right over it and left it as hard as a brick.

Cheers!

:cheers:

Edited by Daniel

Hopefully, you let it slowly drip over the ice cube? Occasionally, I've stumbled across a sugar cube that's gotten moist and re-dried. They are as hard as concrete! About the only thing you can do with them is turn 'em into simple syrup.

Don't forget to add your review of the Doubs to the WS main web page. You may as well start now! :cheers:

Arriven sounds cool! :devil:

Let the sugar get wet and sit a minute. With a slow pour / drip, it usually dissolves pretty easily. I don't usually use sugar, but this seems to work when I do. :cheers:

I bought a brouille & decided to use that instead of the spoon method. The sugar cube goes in the "bowl" with the ice, and then you fill it with water and it drizzles out the hole in the bottom. The sugar pretty much stayed just as it was through the whole thing.

I'll post a review on the Doubs Mysique later... :yahoo:

Don't get hung up on sugar. It's not necessary to be authentic. Try it with and without to see how you like it best. And at least until you've had a lot of different absinthes I'd suggest trying everything both with and without. Over time you'll probably develop a preference that you stick with.

I look forward to reading your thoughts.

I bought a brouille & decided to use that instead of the spoon method. ... The sugar pretty much stayed just as it was through the whole thing.

I've had much the same experience and have concluded that one really has to use the spoon to get sugar to dissolve properly. But I agree with Peridot...always try a new absinthe without the sugar, as many good ones don't require it at all.