Sign in to follow this  
TAKEDA

New to absinthe and to this forum :)

Sorry i think i posted first in the general forum. Anyways i'm new to absinthe and bought 5 bottles to start out 1901 jade,Amer72 and sorry to say the rest is czech. Im working on my first glass of staroplzenecky's right now.... i hate it;I think this will be my last glass of it(doesn't louche and not even two sugars seem to get rid of the burned rubber after taste). I love 1901 and Amer72, taste perfect and clean and relax the hell out of you. What are some other good future choices?

Welcome, TAKEDA!

At least you have tried the bad with the good and should be on the right track now! :cheers:

Welcome!

Consider:

The other Jades

Clandestine(s)

Blanchette

Duplais Verte & Balance

Eichelberger(s)

Helfrich

Lucid

La Valote(s)

Kübler

La Ptite

Blanche and Verte de Fougerolles

Hmmm, what did I leave out? Oh well, that'll get you started! :cheers:

I really liked it, too...at first. I still like it but I think there are other vertes that are much better: more complex, better mouth feel, nicer louche, etc... Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't turn down a glass right now but it wouldn't be my first choice. ;)

What he said, the Amer is not bad but after having a dose of better products I came back to it and found it to be muddy in complexity and a bad type of bitterness. I would drink it again, but probably wouldn't buy it again.

It's one of the many that would have been much higher on my list a couple years ago, but so many things have come out that it's been over shadowed.

I'm curious which Amer 72 everyone means, if we all mean the same. There's the Libertine Amer 72, and the LeMercier Amer 72, both from the same town, but definitely not the same drink. The LeMercier, I've had. I'm assuming that's what everyone means, because the comments about it are in line with my own reaction to it. Good, not great.