JM_frankensnyder

Want Old Overholt bottle - pre-1970

Want Old Overholt bottle - pre-1970

In my ongoing pursuit of an authentic Sazerac, I am looking for a bottle of Old Overholt pre 1970. If you have a bottle, know where one is (besides ebay), - please PM me.

Where it was made. I want the older West Overton version before they moved. The taste changed considerably. They stopped producing Old Overholt in Broad Ford after a fire in 1965. So, I am looking for a bottle older than 1965.

Edited by snyder

Have you had both before? Any idea what you'll have to pay to get an old bottle? Let us know if you are successful.

I'm an absolute noob when it comes to rye whiskey. I've got a bottle of the Old Overholt and a bottle of Michter's. post-97-1179379264.jpg Since I am an absolute beginner, I have no yardstick to measure whether the new versus old Overholt is better at constructing a Sazerac. Do you have favorites among the readily available rye whiskeys? Further, what brands of absinthe are preferred in a Sazerac?

All responses welcome, of course.

Sazerac Straight Rye Whiskey. Period. I haven't had the old stuff (18 year, $245.05) but the 6 year ($25.00) is incredible. I can't get it here so I made Brooks send me some from NOLA when he was there. For me, until further notice, the definitive (whiskey) Sazerac is made with Sazerac Rye.

Sazerac Straight Rye Whiskey. Period. I haven't had the old stuff (18 year, $245.05) but the 6 year ($25.00) is incredible. I can't get it here so I made Brooks send me some from NOLA when he was there. For me, until further notice, the definitive (whiskey) Sazerac is made with Sazerac Rye.

$245.05? Is that an eBay price or typo? The Sazerac 18 is usually $50-60 'round these parts. Though, since they only bottle a limited amount every fall, the price does tend to go up, as the year goes on, and the bottles get scarcer.

...couple googles later...