Mayzandas

Training the Nose and Palate?

Hi, all-

I'm very new to absinthe. So far I've only tasted Un Emile 68, Verte de Fougerolles 72, (these two at the same time) and two other absinthes that I didn't get the name of.

My wife and I took a wine tasting class many years ago. The first night of class, the teachers provided us with several "doctored" samples of wine. They took a relatively innocuous bulk wine and then added various ingredients to it: one sample had sugar added, another had some sort of tannic tasting extract, another had acid, another vinegar, etc.. The idea was to give us a basic idea of what standard terms like "sweet," "tannic," "acidic," "spoiled," etc., refered to. The teachers refered to is as "calibrating the palate."

So now that I've gotten interested in absinthe, I'm reading reviews and wondering what people are talking about when they mention hyssop, melissa, fennel, and other flavors. How does one learn to recognize these flavors? (And smells!)

For instance, tasting the Un Emile and then the VdF, the UE had a bitter woodiness at the back of the aftertaste that I didn't find in the VdF. (And that I didn't especially like, either.) What was that?

I thought of going to an herb shop and buying some herbs to smell and taste, but then I read that their flavors and aromas change significantly when they're distilled. So I'm not sure how much use that would be.

I'm going to be hosting a blind tasting party for a few friends in a couple of weeks. I've got 20cl sample bottles of the following:

(vertes)

Un Emile

Jade Nouvelle Orléans

Jade Edouard

Jade Verte Suisse

Verte de Fougerolles

(blanches)

Blanche de Fougerolles

La Ptite