Preacher

Another newcomer into this society :-)

Hi everybody,

An introduction of myself... Hm... I thought that having the la Fée Verte on my shoulder, and living in the Arctic, was enough description of myself...

But, ok, here we go. I am a lucky bastard who lives in northern Norway. Just like in the States (and MANY other places on this tiny planet Tellus) there are HUGE regulations about what kind of alcohol the government will allow you to drink. But, as everywhere else, the rules are quite ok to bend a bit :o)

So, here we are not allowed to import alcohol stronger than 60%. But in these remote areas, people have sorted out how to make stronger "water" themselves :-) And, wormwood... OH, the government is holding their HUGE eyes to forbid those things. BUT, it's always nice to be the best friend to the local healt food dealer ;-)

In my private life I work as a biologist, and I live in a small village with only 150 inhabitants. The nearest shopping centre is 85 miles away. The good thing is that everybody knows everybody, and the during the summer loads of rich Germans are visiting this place. Mainly to see the northernmost lighthouse on main land on Earth (Slettnes Lighthouse).

So, if anybody are visiting this place, please look me up, and I am (nearly) always in a good mood for sharing a glass of absinthe =)

Welcome, Preacher!

I just gotta ask: are you there by choice? ;)

And the government restricting the ethanol to 60%! I figure that concentration just begins to act as an antifreeze in such northern climes. Any particular absinthe favorites? Do the flying monkeys make it up there or do you have to use more creative ways to import the green fairy?

Ahoj and welcome! :cheers:

I think my village may still be smaller than yours (there has been a number of births lately, so I'm not so sure). But the shopping is definitely closer. And the rich Germans buzz right through here looking for more interesting destinations, fortunately.

Welcome!