deaddybear

Cigars and Absinthe

OK, so the newbie jumps into deep water...

When I introduced myself, I learned that some of you are fellow cigar fans (hat tip to Hiram!). I am new to absinthe, but not at all to the cigar world. At this point, I am almost exclusively smoking cuban cigars (the exception are the Padron maddies) - but I've noticed they can overpower the absinthes I've tried. Granted I like the strong smokes - Bolivars especially. Last night I paired a Romeo y Julietta Churchill with the Blanche Traditionelle "Brut d'alambic" 'Essai 3'...it was the best I've tried.

My question? What pairings have my fellow herfers discovered that really work? I am open to suggestions (as long as they have nothing to do with Philly Blunts - yeah, i'm a cigar snob!)

I suggest doing a search. We've had several threads on this in the past.

Cubans tend to be a bit too spicy to drink alongside absinthe. I've found the same with most Opus X and Forbidden X products. However, I paired a 1995 Opus X with some Ike the other day, and it worked well. The aging of the cigar mellowed out the flavors.

Onyx cigars tend to be flavorful, yet not too spicy. Try one of them.

I like the CAO MX2 which has a Brazilian Maduro binder and a Conn. Madure wrapper.

I tried it with Jade PF1901. It was definitely a treat. :thumbup:

I will have to try an Onyx at some point. Still doing some research though.

I'm going to try a CAO CX2 which has a Cameroon binder and cameroon wrapper although it may be too spicy.

I will let you know.

CAOs tend to be too spicy too. I typically use something simple, like a Thompson Wall Street with absinthe. Also the God of Fire cigars work very well, as they are quite mild. A stupendous smoke.