I made a casual search for this info, but didn't see what I was looking for. If this is too redundant, just scold me and I'll slink away.

Since I live in Atlanta, my tap water comes from the Chattahoochee river (treated, of course). As such, it is often heavily chlorinated. Not too good for making tea, coffee, etc. It is relatively soft, though. I run mine through a filter in the refrigerator and it pretty much removes the chlorine taste. Seemed fine with my first few absinthe trials (I'm still new at this). It did get me thinking:

Are there favorite bottled waters for use in the absinthe ritual? Any recommendations?

Well, I live in the willamette valley of oregon, and according to consumer reports, we have the best water of the united states, aside from the fact that I have bathed in it several times (N. Santiam River). But If you happen to be in minnesota, where the water tastes and smells like fish during the summer, then yes, distilled water is your best bet.

I used to live in Tucson where the tap water comes from a deep aquifer and is hard as hell. If you froze it to make ice cubes, the minerals would precipitate and drop out as yucky white flakes as the ice melted in your beverage. I was forced to buy purified water or use the "Aqua Vend" machines to make the water palatable. The water in Atlanta is better, but still benefits from carbon/charcoal filteration.

While I'm at it, how about sugar cubes? The ones I tried first were hard as cement cinder blocks and took forever to dissolve. Are there particular brands that work best in the ritual?

I find bottled spring water to be best. Distilled water lacks any mineral content, which makes it softer and "drinking water" is often taken from the tap. Don't go buying trendy big name waters because it's not worth it. Just a gallon of whatever is cheapest should do. Keep it in the fridge and you're always ready to go.