Bladeswitch

Hello everyone!

I am a professional Chef who loves culinary history, well when I discovered absinthe 6 years ago when doing reasearch on Oyster's Rockefeller I was hell bent on trying an ingredient that was out of my reach. Well I have tasted very few and would like to learn more about this mystical aperitif. Thanks in advance!

Bladeswitch

Well I've actually taken a year off to write and publish my cookbook then I plan to open a small fine dining restaurant in the my little home town that I just recently moved back to. So good to Be home!

Your Friend,

Bladeswitch

Thank you for the link to the recipes! The Oyster recipe on that link was the first one I found and started me on my way to a incurable obsession with the "Green Fairy". Thanks everyone again for the warm welcome!

Bladeswitch

Howdy, Blade. :cheers: What Hiram said about punctuation and whatnot is very true. I'm not much of a stickler for grammar, but that intro made my copy editor sense tingle.

Welcome to the fold! :cheers:

In a recipe like Oysters Rockefeller — which calls for a whopping ¼ cup of absinthe! — your choice of absinthe must affect the flavor of the finished dish.

Have you had the opportunity to experiment with different brands? Have you reached any conclusions? (I'm still looking for ways to polish off this old bottle of La Fée!)

I found that the amount of absinthe in that particular recipe is actually perfect. The reason why is the use of dairy particularly butter, when butter is added to any ingredient that is anise based the flavor structure changes to something different all its own. I highly recommend the original recipe! Now the original recipe that I have researched states that "Antoine" used the Pernod brand of absinthe I would concur and please don't use any czech absinthe no oyster deserve that horrible a death.

Bladeswitch

*Note flavor structure is not a scientific term it is my own palates observation.