Sign in to follow this  
drcocktail

Introducing myself and making a review request

First post, Ladies and Gentlemen. I'm Doc. I'm a newbie to the forums, but not to either absinthe or any other potable distillate you can name. DrinkBoy brought the WS to my attention, and I know Brooks, and Ted B. I may know a couple others among you too, but given the clever monikers, I can't be sure. I'm Curator and co-founder of The Museum of the American Cocktail, and the cocktail is central to my interests, with a minor in Tiki, and another in Absinthe. My involvement with absinthe goes back to 1991 or so. I was an early guinea pig for TB's experiments. Back then the choices were Philip Lasala, Sebor, and Hill's. Can you imagine a time when the best thing around was Sebor? I've since had La Fee, and a bottle of early Tarragona Pernod Couvet. Spotty, eh? Mainly I've been concentrating on pre-Prohibition cocktails and their constituents for a number of years and, in looking at the wider history (and maybe another book,) I'm again expanding my purview. WS is simply excellent. I've spent the entire day reading posts, rules, suggestions, and reviews. Both here and at Oxygenee.com I see amazing strides having been made since I published my first absinthe article back in '93. Greetings to all of you.

Now, back to being on topic: As I say, I've read (and read, and read) reviews - think of me as frozen early homo sapiens, all awake and lively, now. I read not only the reviews but, I think the reviewers as well. What I'd like to ask is for the principals (you know who you are) to simply list in order your favorite absinthes. To some extent I know, but the act of ordering them may produce some second thoughts and trends, perhaps?

I grabbed these names from my readings. Please add, subtract explain why - or don't. Just your choices in order of preference, as many or few as you care to list.

François Guy

Kübler 53

Verte de Suisse

Edouard

Duplais Verte

Segarra 45

Combier Blanchette