Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'judaism'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • The Office
    • READ THIS FIRST
    • Newcomer Introductions
    • Admin Announcements
  • The Bistro
    • General Absinthe Discussion
    • Absinthe Brand Discussion
    • Absinthe In Art
    • Absinthe In History
    • Absinthe In Science
    • Absinthe In Literature
    • Absinthe In The Media
    • Absinthe In Cities Around the World
    • Gadgets & Gizmos
  • The Speakeasy
    • Cocktail Club
    • Smoking Section
    • Good Spirits & Other Potables
  • The Kitchen
    • The Cookbook
    • The Fine Art of Dining
  • The Kiosk
    • The Market
    • We're Glad You're Not Dead Yet
    • The Cork Board

Calendars

There are no results to display.


Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


AIM


MSN


Website URL


ICQ


Yahoo


Jabber


Skype


Real Name, first AND last


Location


Interests

Found 2 results

  1. Hello everyone and thanks for the warm welcome over in the Newbie section. As I mentioned on that thread. I am a new Absinthe drinker that is somewhat limited by what Absinthes I can and cannot drink as I am a religious Jew and adhere to strict Kosher laws. The only thing that could make an Abnsithe not Kosher is its use of grapes, brandy, wine etc in its Alcohol base. This is made somewhat easier in the US with ingredient labeling laws . However, most websites for the importation of Absinthes are not very helpful disclosing what base the alcohol is. My goal here is to create a short list of Absinthe that: A) Are certified Kosher and by whom Could be Kosher (because they are distilled using grain, beet sugar, honey or adhere to the strict guidelines behind a kosher grape product). Is it all grain all the time. Do they also make a wine based absinthe. If so are the same distillery equipment used etc. Its important to note that for some Jews, this information is ok while others will not partake of the drink unless it has a Kosher certification or is listed on a Kosher supervised service website C) For sure uses grape products. I have reached out to a few distilleries, all of which have been very familiar with the issues involved. What I have learned is that being brand specific is no longer good enough as some brands will have a variation of both or will make other type of spirits with grape bases. When that is the case deeper questions must be asked. As learn more I will ad to directly to this post BASED ON PAST THREADS & EMAILS AND MORE, HERE IS WHAT I HAVE LEARNED SO FAR: WITH KOSHER CERTIFICATION Lucid - OU - Parve Doubs Premium Absinthe - London Beth Din - Parve Pernod Absinthe - 40% - London Beth Din - Parve (I am the one that pointed out to them that the PERNOD ABSINTHE 68% Vol listed on p.113 of The Really Jewish Food Guide 2014 as approved Parev is now made with grape alcohol and is therefore NOT KOSHER.) COULD BE KOSHER (Product Specific) La Muse Verte Pacfique Vieux Carre Kuebler Tenneyson Absinthe Royal Vilya Meadow of Love Walton Waters Marteau Belle Époque (NOT the Master's Reserve, which IS made with grape spirits) Versinthe (Liquoristerie de Provence) Artémisia-Bugnon La Clandestine Absinthe Angélique Verte Suisse - 70 cl Absinthe Butterfly Matter Luginbühl (Tempus Fugit?) Duplias Verte Mansinthe OriginalAbsinthes.com Absinthe Original (I know I know) Absinthe King Gold (Again, I know I know) COULD BE KOSHER (BUT NEEDS TO BE PRODUCT SPECIFIC) Un Emile (Emile Pernod) F Guy Lemercier La Fee NOT KOSHER Any of the Jades :-( St George Pernod PERNOD ABSINTHE 68% Absinthe Pernod Rocette Traditionelle Fguy La Fée XS Francaise Emile Pernot Absinthe Vieux Pontarlier
  2. Found his little bit of interesting Absinthe history. For those of you that don't know, Havadalah is the ritual that religious Jews do to mark the end of the Jewish Sabbath (and other festivals like Rosh Hashanah, Succos, Yom Kippur, Passover etc). It usually involves, fire, nice smelling herbs and always includes wine or some beverage (the discussion of what kind of beverage can be used for Havadalah could take pages and pages...but apparently Absinthe is ok. This particular story is from a translation of a letter sent by the 6th Lubuvitcher Rebbe Yosef Yitzchak Schneersohn (known internally as the Rayatz) to his daughter, Rebbetzin Chayah Mushka, who eventually became the wife of the Rebbe most of us know so well. I won't post the whole thing here but here is a blurb. You can read the whole story here. http://www.chabad.org/library/article_cdo/aid/2313049/jewish/Chapter-Seven-After-Yom-Kippur-with-the-Maggid.htm The attached picture is a photoshop version of the fabragan wine label to give you an idea of what this might have looked like. -
×